Baby-2 yrs Kids books similar to Goodnight Moon.

Published on June 5th, 2014 | by Bright Kids Books


Kids books similar to Goodnight Moon

You’ve read Margaret Wise Brown’s classic and you’re looking for kids books similar to Goodnight Moon, then this list is exactly what you’re looking for.

These 10 kids books make great follow-ups to Goodnight Moon. Enjoy!

Kids Books similar to Goodnight Moon


A Book of Sleep
by Il Sung Na

This is one of those amazing books that delights your eye from the very first page and holds your attention to the very end. Il Sung Na makes his English language debut with this gorgeous bedtime offering. With a spare, soothing text and beautifully rich and textured illustrations of a starry night, this is the perfect “book of sleep”. Just like Goodnight Moon!


Harold and the Purple Crayon
by Crockett Johnson

“One night, after thinking it over for some time, Harold decided to go for a walk in the moonlight.” So begins this gentle story that shows just how far your imagination can take you. Armed only with an oversized purple crayon, young Harold draws himself a landscape full of beauty and excitement. Crockett Johnson’s understated tribute to the imagination was first published in 1955, and has been inspiring readers of all ages ever since. Harold’s quiet but magical journey reminds us of the marvels the mind can create, and also gives us the wondrous sense that anything is possible. One of the genuine classic Kids Books similar to Goodnight Moon, and wonderful and magical addition to your bedtime ritual.


Kiss Good Night
By Amy Hest

With stunning illustrations, the simple rythym of this story appeals to both the reader and child. Mrs Bear and Sam provide a cadence to your bedtime ritual that will soon have sleep-fighting tots relinquishing their day to the night. Definitely worthy of replacing Goodnight Moon in your bedtime reading some nights.


Time for Bed
by Mem Fox

You absolutely cannot go wrong with a Mem Fox book. In Time for Bed, Fox teams with illustrator Jane Dyer to create a charming, beautiful book that will soothe and calm even the wildest beast, or child. Gentle, rhythmic text and dreamy watercolors lead to yawns, sleepy eyes, and like Goodnight Moon… dozing babies.


Love You Forever (Hardcover)
by Robert Munsch

The mother sings to her sleeping baby: “I’ll love you forever / I’ll love you for always / As long as I’m living / My baby you’ll be.” She still sings the same song when her baby has turned into a fractious 2-year-old, a slovenly 9-year-old, a raucous teen, and so on. Then, inevitably, the day comes when she’s too old and sick to hold him, and the roles are at last reversed. Each stage is illustrated by one of Sheila McGraw’s comic and yet poignant pastels.


On the Night You Were Born (Board book)
by Nancy Tillman

On the night you were born, you brought wonder and magic to the world. The moon stayed up till morning. Polar bears danced. Here is a book that celebrates the one and only ever you! Now available in its entirety in board book format, Nancy Tillman’s masterpiece is perfect for acknowledging the special people in our lives that they are loved. If your little one loves Goodnight Moon, they’ll no doubt adore On the Night You Were Born too!


by Don Freeman

Don Freeman’s classic character, Corduroy, is even more popular today then he was when he first came on the scene in 1976. Corduroy is the perfect children’s book. It is a gentle, sweet tale of a little bear in green cordoroy overalls waiting to be purchased in a department store. Youngsters (and adults!) will never get tired of this toy-comes-alive tale with a seriously happy ending.


Dream Animals
by Emily Winfield Martin

Perfect for bed time reading, this book will appeal to parents and children alike. Emily Martin convinces children to close their eyes and discover who their dream animal might be – and what dream it might take them to. With a perfect night time rhyme and gorgeous illustrations, this delightful and whimsical story will inevitably become one of your favorite bedtime books. For it’s sleep inducing qualities, Dream Animals is definitely one of the kids books similar to Goodnight Moon.


The Going to Bed Book
by Sandra Boynton

Getting ready for sleep is tons of fun in this Sandra Boynton classic, perfect to wind down the day. A joyful, silly group of animals, illustrated in Boynton’s distinctive, exuberant style, scrub scrub scrub in the tub, brush and brush and brush their teeth, and finally rock and rock and rock to sleep. You’ll find yourself reading this one over and over and over again – so luckily it’s just as appealing for parents & carers as it is for young minds.

And finally… just in case you’ve never read Goodnight Moon…


Goodnight Moon
By Margaret Wise Brown

In a great green room, tucked away in bed, is a little bunny. “Goodnight room, goodnight moon.”

In this classic of modern children’s literature, beloved by generations of readers and listeners, the quiet poetry of the words and the gentle, lulling illustrations combine to make a perfect book for the end of the day. And what could be one of the kids books similar to Goodnight Moon?.. than the classic itself!

About the Author

- thinking kids can change the world.

Back to Top ↑